



MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF ATHLONE MUNICIPAL DISTRICT HELD IN THE COUNCIL Chamber - Áras an Chontae, ON MONDAY, 20th June, 2022 AT

PRESENT: Councillor Laurence Fallon PRESIDED

MEMBERS: Cllr E. Kelly, Cllr J. Keogh, Cllr D. Kilduff, Cllr J. Naughten and Cllr T. Ward.

OFFICIALS: Paul Browne, Acting Municipal District Coordinator

Shelia Glennon, Staff Officer

Claire Gunning, Assistant Area Engineer, Athlone Municipal District Office

John O'Rourke, Senior Engineer

Apologies:

43.22 ELECTION OF CATHAOIRLEACH

The Cathaoirleach, Cllr. L Fallon welcomed everyone to the AGM of Athlone Municipal District. He thanked and expressed his appreciation to fellow Members, Chief Executive and Athlone MD team for their support and co-operation, working together for the benefit of Municipal District. He thanked the press and members of the public for their contribution over the last year.

The Cathaoirleach invited proposals for the election of the Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED By:** Cllr. John Keogh **SECONDED BY:** Cllr. Emer Kelly

That Cllr. John Naughten be elected as Cathaoirleach of Athlone Municipal District

It was **PROPOSED By:** Cllr Tony Ward **SECONDED BY:** Cllr Donal Kilduff

That Cllr. Donal Kilduff be elected as Cathaoirleach of Athone Municipal District

Cllr. L Fallon called for a vote on the position of Cathaoirleach and the Councillors voted in the following manner:

Voting for election of Clir. J Naughten. – Clir. L Fallon, Clir. E Kelly, Clir. J Keogh, Clir. J Naughten (4 votes)

Voting for election of Cllr. D Kilduff. - Cllr. D Kilduff, Cllr. T Ward. (2 votes)

It was deemed that Cllr. John Naughten be elected Cathaoirleach of the Athlone MD to hold office until his successor is appointed in accordance with the law.

Cllr. J Naughten thanked his proposer and seconder and fellow councillors for their support and looked forward to working with all members during his term as Cathaoirleach.

All Members congratulated Cllr. J Naughten and wished him well as Cathaoirleach.

The Members also thanked Cllr. L Fallon for the excellent job he had done during his term as Cathaoirleach.

44.22 ELECTION OF LEAS-CATHAOIRLEACH

Cllr. L Fallon sought nominations for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED By:** Cllr. E Kelly **SECONDED BY:** Cllr. L Fallon

That Cllr. John Keogh be elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED By:** Cllr. D Kilduff **SECONDED BY:** Cllr. T Ward

That Cllr. Tony Ward be elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach.

Voting for the election of Cllr. J Keogh: - Cllr. L Fallon, Cllr. E Kelly, Cllr. J Keogh, Cllr. J Naughten. (4 Votes)

Voting of the election of Cllr. T Ward: - Cllr. D Kilduff, Cllr. T Ward. (2 votes).

It was deemed that Cllr. J Keogh be elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach of the Athlone MD to hold office until his successor is appointed in accordance with the law.

Cllr. J Keogh thanked his proposer and seconder and fellow councillors and is looking forward to working with all members in the coming year.

All Members congratulated Cllr. J Keogh on his election to Leas-Cathaoirleach and wished him well for the forthcoming year.

45.22 DATE OF MEETINGS

On the **PROPOSAL OF:** Cllr T Ward **SECONDED BY:** Cllr. J Keogh

It was **AGREED** that the Athlone MD meetings for 2022/2023 take place on the following dates:

- 19th July, 2022 (Municipal)
- 20th September, 2022 (Municipal)
- 22nd November, 2022 (Municipal)
- 17th January, 2023 (Municipal)
- 21st March, 2023 (Municipal)
- 16th May, 2023 (Municipal)
- (AGM Municipal District TBC)

This concluded the business of the AGM.

The foregoing Minutes are Confirmed and Signed:

Pal Browne

Meeting Coordinator

John Naughten

Cathaoirleach

Pal Browne

Countersigned